Friday, December 16, 2011

I'm a nurse?

Yep, that's right. I graduated with another Bachelor's today. I'm kind of a professional student. I honestly feel like UK should be paying me, not the other way around.

This time, however, I won't have to sit in a dark cave with a giant calculator all day. As soon as I get my provisional license, I am allowed to start working as a nurse.

My life will soon revolve around diapers, pee, and bowel movements...so pretty much the same as my current title of stay-at-home mom except I will actually receive a paycheck. And hopefully none of my patients will bite my boob or yank out handfuls of my hair.

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Zombie Mom

You know how people say you turn into your mom? Well, I am becoming my mom, but not my conscious mom...my mom in her sleep.

Over the years, my family has gotten so many laughs out of my mom's nighttime antics. There was the time she ran out into the hallway screaming "You get back here!!" waking everyone up (turns out she was fighting a Chinese dude & he tried to escape). Then there was the time she told my dad off for making her eat a dirty sock. One of the funniest, and most dangerous, was when she fell asleep while I was driving and scared me half to death when she suddenly shouted "Eeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwww!!!" Evidently she had been petting "fish with fur on them" and got creeped out.

I am turning into a psychotic sleeper as well. I am going to chalk this up to one more fun side effect of having children, since this has started in the 13 months my daughter has been with us. I'm almost positive it's because I've learned how to fall into a deep enough sleep that I can dream while still being just aware enough to listen for my kid.

I am pretty anxious during storms because we live in a tiny house with no interior rooms in a subdivision that has been bulldozed by a tornado once already. But...having a newborn and no sleep meant when I did finally get to lay down I could sleep through ANYTHING. I could be whisked away to Oz with Dorothy & Toto and not have a clue til the next morning. I always sleep with the tv on if it's storming so I can wake up & see what Bill Meck has to say about weather conditions. One night I was up waaaaaaayyyy past my bedtime because of the tornado sirens. Finally around 4 a.m., I couldn't hold my eyes open and passed out. Next thing I know, Brian is asking me "what the hell are you doing? Get back in the bed." To which I frantically replied "But we HAVE to get out of here-there is a tornado!" Not only am I yelling and making zero sense, but I have picked up the baby (then about 5 months old), and I am bolting for the hallway with her.

I've done a lot of talking and laughing in my sleep since then. But it got really weird this week when I woke up to find myself sitting up in bed, leaning over Brian, and picking at his hair. It took me a minute to realize I was dreaming about Mallory making a big mess and I was trying to clean it up. I didn't wake Brian up, but I was laughing hysterically for 30 minutes so I couldn't go back to sleep! I asked him the next morning if I woke him up at all, and he said "no, but you're always picking at me so I probably wouldn't even notice."

I've officially cracked.